Book Reviews

Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed – BOOK REVIEW

love hate.png

Links to:          Amazon UK          Goodreads        Waterstones

Simple Signature Regular

“A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacquelyn Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?”

 

Simple Signature Regular

I really enjoyed reading Love, Hate and Other Filters. I’ve been anticipating this book for such a long time and I couldn’t wait to read it!

This book covers some very important issues that are rarely discussed in books and that is fantastic. It was great to read about Maya, especially her Muslim background and what it’s like to grow up in contemporary America after terrorist attacks. The fear that Maya lives day to day is dealt with in a very sensitive manner, and the influence that her religion and culture has is a key feature that is explored throughout.

The plot felt a little disjointed at times, but I thought this was a great YA book, with a mixture of both serious and life changing issues covered, as well as general teen worries, relationships, friendships and family life.

A debut novel that I highly recommend, especially if you’re looking for a bit of a romance novel with Muslim/Indian representation, with religion and parent expectations being a key issue explored throughout.

4gg.png

Have you read Love, Hate and Other Filters? Are you planning to? Let me know in the comments!

Marie x

TWITTER     —–      GOODREADS      ——     INSTAGRAM

11 thoughts on “Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed – BOOK REVIEW”

  1. I did read it, last year, i got An ARC from Edelweiss.
    Tbh the book frustrated me in a lot of ways. I’m a Muslim and was annoyed a little by a few things.
    And I’m an Egyptian so the fact that the suspect in the terrorism was a Muslim was pretty offending to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually read some other reviews which mentioned things like this! As a cis white woman, I obviously can’t comment on diversity etc. I mean it was great that it had a Muslim protagonist but obviously there are some issues with it as well x

      Like

  2. This is on my TBR and I have seen some really great reviews about it.

    While it sounds a little typical contemporary overall I always look forward to books that discuss the intricacies of different diversities. It’s always great to see different rep in the books too! If you are interested in some more Muslim rep contemporaries you should check out Sadia which was recently released as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s